About swissethics

The Swiss Ethics Committees on research involving humans have formed a joint working group (swissethics). Its members are all the recognised regional/cantonal ethics committees of Switzerland.

The goal of the association is to coordinate the work of the cantonal Ethics Committees in order to assure the consistent application of the federal regulations regarding research involving humans, and to maintain the exchange of information.

swissethics is mandated by the Coordination office for research involving humans (kofam) and the Conference of cantonal ministers of public health (GDK) for:

  • the coordination and standardisation of working processes
  • education and training of the members of the ethics committees


Organisation

General assembly

Executive board

  • Dr. Susanne Driessen of EKOS (president)
  • Dr. iur. Jürg Müller of EKNZ (vice-president)
  • Prof. Dr. B. Hirschel of the EC Geneva
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Dominique Sprumont of the EC Vaud
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Meier-Abt of the EC Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Beglinger of EKNZ
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Seiler of the EC Bern
  • Dr. Giovan Maria Zanini of the EC Ticino

Committee

  • Dr. Susanne Driessen of EKOS
  • Dr. iur. Jürg Müller of EKNZ
  • MSc. Nienke Jones of EKNZ
  • Prof. Dr. B. Hirschel of the EC Geneva
  • MA Soc. Arthur Zinn-Poget of the EC Vaud
  • Dr. Peter Kleist of the EC Zürich
  • Dr. Beatrice Giberti Gai of the EC Ticino
  • Dr. Dorothy Pfiffner of the EC Bern
  • Dr. Pietro Gervasoni, swissethics

Chair

Dr. med. Susanne Driessen

Susanne Driessen has been President of the Ethics Committee EKOS since 2014 and President of swissethics since 2015. She has been active in the field of research ethics in Switzerland since 2010 and passed her specialist examination in pharmaceutical medicine in 2013. Previously, she worked as a physician in internal medicine (haematology/oncology in Freiburg i. Br., Germany) and in leukaemia research (Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA) and transplantation immunology (Lübeck, Germany). Susanne Driessen earned her doctorate summa cum laude, she was a scholarship holder of the German National Academic Foundation and received in 1995 the prize of the German Society for Nephrology for her PhD. She is married and has four children.

General Secretariat

Dr. Pietro Gervasoni

Pietro Gervasoni is Managing Director of swissethics since November 2015. Prior to that, he was General Manager and Director Clinical Operations at Quintiles (now IQVIA) for 8 years and held various roles and responsibilities in medical affairs and clinical research in the pharmaceutical industry, including Sanofi and Bristol Myers Squibb. Mr. Gervasoni has also worked for the ICRC as a delegate and head office in the Middle East (Iraq, Kashmir) and Africa (Rwanda, Ivory Coast). He received his PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Zurich with the 'outstanding dissertation award'.

https://www.swissethics.ch/assets/swissethics/jahresberichte/jahresbericht2019_d.pdf

Documents

Über swissethics

Die Schweizer Ethikkommissionen für die Forschung am Menschen sind im Verein "swissethics" zusammengeschlossen. Mitglieder des Vereins sind die anerkannten Ethikkommissionen der Schweiz.

Zweck des Vereins ist die Sicherstellung der Koordination unter den kantonalen Ethikkommissionen der Schweiz mit dem Ziel, eine einheitliche Anwendung der bundesrechtlichen Bestimmungen zur Humanforschung zu erreichen und den Informations- und Meldungsaustausch zu pflegen. 

swissethics ist von der Koordinationsstelle des BAG (KOFAM) und der Gesundheitsdirektorenkonferenz (GDK) für folgende Aufgaben mandatiert:

  • Koordination und Vereinheitlichung der Vorgehensweisen
  • Aus- und Fortbildung der Kommissionsmitglieder

Organisation

Mitgliederversammlung

Vorstand

  • Dr. Susanne Driessen von der EKOS (Präsidentin)
  • Dr. iur. Jürg Müller von der EKNZ (Vizepräsident)
  • Prof. Dr. B. Hirschel von der EK Genf
  • Prof. Dr. iur. Dominique Sprumont von der EK Waadt
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Meier-Abt von der EK Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Beglinger von der EKNZ
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Seiler von der EK Bern
  • Dr. Giovan Maria Zanini von der EK Tessin

Ausschuss

  • Dr. Susanne Driessen von der EKOS
  • Dr. iur. Jürg Müller von der EKNZ
  • MSc. Nienke Jones von der EKNZ
  • Prof. Dr. B. Hirschel von der EK Genf
  • MA Soc. Arthur Zinn-Poget von der EK Waadt
  • Dr. Peter Kleist von der EK Zürich
  • Dr. Beatrice Giberti Gai von der EK Tessin
  • Dr. Dorothy Pfiffner von der EK Bern
  • Dr. Pietro Gervasoni, swissethics

Präsidium

Dr. med. Susanne Driessen

Susanne Driessen ist seit 2014 Präsidentin der Ethikkommission Ostschweiz und seit 2015 Präsidentin von swissethics. Sie ist seit 2010 im Bereich der Forschungsethik in der Schweiz tätig und legte 2013 die Facharztprüfung Pharmazeutische Medizin ab. Zuvor war sie als Ärztin klinisch in der Inneren Medizin (Hämatologie/Onkologie in Freiburg i. Br., Deutschland) und wissenschaftlich im Bereich der Leukämie-Forschung (Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA) und der Transplantations-Immunologie (Lübeck, Deutschland) tätig. Susanne Driessen promovierte mit summa cum laude, war Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes und erhielt 1995 den Promotionspreises der deutschen Gesellschaft für Nephrologie. Sie ist verheiratet und hat vier Kinder.

Generalsekretariat

Dr. Pietro Gervasoni

Pietro Gervasoni ist seit November 2015 Geschäftsführer von swissethics. Davor war er 8 Jahre lang als General Manager und Director Clinical Operations bei Quintiles (heute IQVIA) tätig und hatte verschiedene Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten in den Bereichen Medical Affairs und Clinical Research in der Pharmaindustrie, unter anderem bei Sanofi und Bristol Myers Squibb. Herr Gervasoni hat auch für das IKRK als Delegierter und Headoffice im Nahen Osten (Irak, Kaschmir) und in Afrika (Ruanda, Elfenbeinküste) gearbeitet. Er promovierte in Biochemie an der Universität Zürich mit dem ‘outstanding dissertation award’.


Dokumente